Landscape & Pond Supplies. We offer a friendly, helpful and informative atmosphere to make any landscape project, whether a single bag of mulch or a complete landscaping, be an easy and fun experience. The Zendt family--owners and operators of Rocks n Roots, currently in our fourth generation--has been serving the landscape industry since 1928. Since our beginning we have been accumulating knowledge of the best landscape materials for landscape enrichment, and through our prior years as landscape contractors we have become experts in the installation of those goods. Rocks n Roots employees are given hands experience through seminars, instructional videos, and one-on-one tutoring. We pride ourselves on having one of Michigan's largest selections of landscape hardgoods, and are constantly bringing in new and innovative products. So come on in--because everybody needs a little r n r!

Online coupon

External LinkPrint Coupon

Coupons (1)

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate


Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!


Great store!

I love your displays. They give me a better idea of what I want for my pavers and possibly pond.

Jessica T.


Provided by YPmobile

Great experience. I usually have my landscaper update my beds with mulch. but this year I wanted to do it myself. What a huge selection. I also found that they have what I need for sealing my bricks too. Check this place out. Good displays too.

claimed iconBusiness Response05/16/2016

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to helping you in the future.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Brenda S.


Provided by

I called the store to get a feel for their prices on multiple items because I was going to tackle a large backyard makeover. The lady on the phone told me she didn't think my call was legitimate and actually hung up on me! I called back and asked to speak to a manager and the same lady answered and said she was actually the owner!! She again very rudely told me she "didn't have time for this" and that she didn't think my call was sincere because i was asking about to many things and that a sincere person would come in person. I asked her if she was going to spend a lot of money wouldn't she call around first to get a feel for prices before spending time driving to the location? I work a full time job and have 3 kids to drive to soccer and baseball and after school clubs like robotics and key club and a baby who isn't even 2 yet! I don't have time to drive to 5 or 6 different landscape companies and spend time "in person" just to find out the price of sand and pea gravel and crushed concrete is priced way higher then another location when I can get info over the phone. I was asking for prices for wall block to make a short retaining wall, sand, pea gravel and rocks and crushed concrete for my base layer for a patio I'm putting in. I also am looking for Arcadia paving stones and when I was telling her about them she asked me what size "rocks" I wanted..This confused me so I asked her "what rocks?" she again extremely rudely stated she didn't think my call was legitimate because I didn't know what she meant and she was looking at the catalog. I said I also have the same book and I told her the 3 size bricks I saw....she got more belligerent with me and I told her I was sorry but she confused me when she said "rocks" and she argued that she never said "rocks". I have never been treated so rudly in my life by a business and I ended the call. Its a shame for them because I was going to spend quite a bit of money. I was going to start all my projects when I start my vacation time in 2 weeks. I would rather spend more money elsewhere then ever give this company my hard earned cash I work overtime for.

claimed iconBusiness Response06/08/2015

We didn't mean to offend you. You had so many questions and items you were interested in, that it was more than we could adequately handle by a phone call. We just wanted you to stop by and talk to one of the salespeople and look at the displays so we could quote your project correctly. We'd still like the opportunity to help you.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
William B.


Provided by

Stopped in to order a truckload of crushed concrete on 4 June and was quoted a price by Jack, for delivery early afternoon on 9 June. I followed up with Jack on 6 June and was told that their truck needed maintenance but my delivery should be no problem.

At 3:45 on 9 June I still had no crushed concrete so I called again. Jack said the truck was still down for repair and apologized telling me that he would call BEFORE they closed for the day to give me an update. He didn't! I called again first thing on 10 June and was PROMISED delivery by noon. At 11:58 I got a call from Jack telling me that the truck was in the yard and loaded (they are 10-15 minutes away) and asked for payment info. My wallet was in my truck across the site so I called back less than 2 minutes later and was given a total $350 MORE than I was quoted.

After costing me a day, $250 in wasted rental on a loader, they wanted to bend me over for the truck repair? I canceled the order and cut my losses.

Over the next year to year and a half I will be spending $50K - $75K on landscaping MATERIALS for a new build home. Rocks N Roots will not be seeing one dime of that!

T.d. F.


Provided by

New to the area and you were recomended by my neghtbor. I like your store and i'll be back in the spring for a project. Thanks.



Provided by

I started shopping at Rock and Roots a few weeks ago and was very happy with their products and customer service. However, my opinion of this store has changed. I was purchasing black waterfall foam at $23.29 per can and was trying to decide if two were enough or if I should buy three. The elderly gentleman at the counter said that they normally didn’t take returns on that product but to go ahead and buy three and as long as the seal was intact they would take a return or exchange on one can. I ended up only needing two cans and decided to exchange the third can for more pond products. That same man refused to take the third can back. He said we might have left it in the sun or exposed it to heat, which would ruin it. We called the manufacturer and they said that was untrue, called Rocks and Roots themselves and told them to stop telling customers untrue things about their product! Rock and Roots has lost a customer. If they hadn’t told me in the first place I could bring one can back I wouldn’t feel this way. I feel it was an underhanded, deceitful thing to do.

claimed iconBusiness Response07/27/2013

Sorry for any misunderstandings. We allow returns the same day they are purchased so we can ensure the quality of the product. The product states on the back of the canister that the black foam cannot be in direct sunlight, or be in heat over 90*. At the time of purchase we were experiencing excessive heat and humidity which exceeded the caution on the back of the can. Since the return was not the same day of purchase, we could not accept it. We value you as a customer and hope to help you in the future.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Benjamin F.


Provided by YPmobile

claimed iconBusiness Response06/13/2013

Sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience here. Let us know what happened so we can learn from our mistakes.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Provided by
I just found my new favorite s...

I just found my new favorite store. My husband used to come here by himself. Now when he comes, I want to go with him. Such a unique store. There are so many displays - I want to do so much to my yard now.



Provided by
I just purchased my first home...

I just purchased my first home and decided to add to the patio.

I was a little hesitant to try a smaller store because I worried about

pricing. But, after going to 2 larger chains, and then to Rocks n Roots,

I was totally surprised...happily surprised. Their prices were actually

cheaper, they had a huge selection, and I couldn't have been treated

better. And, even though I am a woman, and this is my first experience

so I had a million questions, I was treated with respect. It was a great

experience and I recommend this place 100%.



Provided by Citysearch
Very cool place!

I never write reviews but I just had to for this store. Very unique, clean and full of ideas and products!! The sales people have all done landscaping before - so that made my projects easier because of their expertise. I would recommend this place to anyone doing a landscape project. Quite an experience!!



Provided by
Good People

They have a lot and they have great service. Good prices too.



Provided by
I was surprised at how competitve their prices are.

I never have been here before - but I was surprised at how good their pricing was. I also got some things delivered and that was a fair price too.



Provided by
Worth going to

I just had to let whoever reads this to know... Stop going to chain stores for your mulch and stones (and other landscape items) like I used to. We need to support local stores like rocks and roots. This is a neat store to go to. I like to try new mulches every other year. I can't wait for Spring to get here.



Provided by Citysearch
Largest selection I have found

I recently went to this store and I really like it. It's a very unique experience. They have a lot to choose from.



Provided by
Bad Product

Any time I have ever got anything rom this store they short me on product. Their staff was very rude and as far as I'm concerned had absolutely NO knowledge of their product. Very disappointed and will never use again. And I believe anyone reading these reviews should not either!

claimed iconBusiness Response12/11/2009

Read the name of who posted this message - and you'll know this can't be taken seriously.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Provided by
Cool Store!

This place is so cool - they always have something new on display!



Provided by
I love this store!!

I love this store!! They have so much to pick from. Every year I do more landscape improvements and Rocks n Roots always has what I need. I've gotten mulch, sprinklers, brick and pond stuff there so far and they had a great selection and were the cheapest around. This year I'm going to tackle a retaining wall and I already know they will have the most options to pick from. Worth going to - you'll love the selection and prices!!



Provided by Citysearch
Great Staff, Friendly, Really knows their products!!

It's so fun to shop here. They treat you like family and always make your project seem fun. I've moved twice now in the last 5 years and I always buy all my landscape supplies here. I've also started getting into ponds and they have helped me a lot with that too. Great store. They have everything for the do it yourselfer or you can pick out what you want if you are hiring someone to do it for you. Worth the drive. Lots of displays!!



Provided by Citysearch
the mulch we bought is contaminated with a unsightly SLIME MOLD that spreads all over!!BEWARE!!!!!

We had 25 yards of premium mulch delivered in june 2007. Since then are entire mulch beds are overun with several growths!! The worst is a MOLD called SLIME MOLD. This Slime Mold has taken over. We have tried removing it with a shovel but it keeps on reproducing. It started in a small area under a swing set. It has now spread to the front yard! I called Rocks and Roots regarding this Mold, they claim it is from over watering. We never had this problem before the new mulch and none of the neighbors do either. We water every two days or so. I did some research on Slime mold, it is almost impossible to get rid of!!
We spent over $ 50,000 on landscaping , which is now covered in what looks like yellow scrambled eggs!!! (throw-up)

More Business Info

Landscape & Pond Supplies

Visit Our Website For Money Saving Coupons

Regular Hours
Mon - Fri:
Holiday Hours
Holiday Hours
Holiday Hours
Holiday Hours
Holiday Hours
Holiday Hours
DECORATIVE STONE: Artic Rainbow, Barn Red/Dessert Rose, Beechwood Dark, Beechwood Light, Black Chestnut Coal, Black Granite/Star Black, Black Ice, Black Illusion, Black Lava/Red Lava, Chesterfield Chocolate, Cracked Cobble, 3/4" to 8" Cobblestone, Irish Mist, Limestone-Cracked, Marble Chips, Mexican Pebbles, Montana Creekm Pink Quartz, Rainbow Mist, Red Lava, Sierra Tile, Silicca Pebble, Slate Scape, Spanish Tile, Tuscany Ridge, Walnut Pebbles, Walnut Nuggets, Western Sunrise. MULCH & WOODCHIPS: Cedar, Dyed Black, Brown, Chestnut, Walnut, Gold & Red. Hardwood: Premium, Processed & Blend. Pine, Rubber and Utility Woodchips. BAGS: Dyed Black, Brown, Gold, Red, Cedar, Cocoa Shell, Cypress, Hardwood, Pine: Needles, Shredded Mulch, Mini & Large Nuggets. SOILS & AGGREGATES: 21AA Concrete, 21AA Limestone, SANDS: 30A Slag, 2NS, Fill & Mason. Topsoil, Black Peat, Pea Pebble, Gravel, Planting Mixes and Compost. EDGING: Aluminum: Green, Bronze, Black and Silver, Black Plastic, Commercial Edging, Paver Edge and Brick Restraint. SOLAR & LOW VOLTAGE LIGHTING. POND SUPPLIES. HYDROPONICS SUPPLIES. HYDROSEEDING MACHINE RENTAL. SPRINKLER SUPPLIES. FIRE PIT & FIREWOOD. ADHESIVES. BURLAP. FABRIC WEED BARRIER. QUICKCRETE. MORTAR. PORTLAND. CEMENT. JOINTING SAND. PAVER SURFACE CLEANERS. TOOL DEPARTMENT. BIRD & PET SUPPLIES. PRECAST STEPS & PATIO STONE. PAVERS AND WALLS: Belgard, Consumers, Fendt, Oaks and Unilock. NATURAL: Boulders, Flagstone, Outcropping, 2 Man Chunks, Wallstone and Steps.
Payment method
check, discover, visa, cash, mastercard, android pay, apple pay, samsung pay
We are located on Van Dyke Rd just south of 29 Mile Rd.

rocks 'n' roots landscape & pond supplies

Social Links
Landscaping Equipment & Supplies, Crushed Stone, Garden Centers, Landscape Contractors, Landscaping & Lawn Services, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Mulches, Ponds & Pond Supplies, Retaining Walls, Sand & Gravel, Stone Natural, Stone Products, Topsoil
Other Information

Parking: Lot

Wheelchair Accessible: Yes

Pets Allowed: No