Business Overview > Reviews

The Cedar Mill, Inc.

Custom fence professional installation.

Http://www.cedarmillFencecompany.com

(815) 744-9390

4180 W Mound Rd
Joliet, IL 60436

41.490382 -88.165291
http://www.dexknows.com/business_profiles/the_cedar_mill__inc_-b140658;jsessionid=01B3352408C58C271188B849C2C898BE

DexKnows Rating: 3 stars (11 Ratings and Reviews)

  • Visit Website
  • Email

Reviews of The Cedar Mill, Inc.

Sort by:

4 Best money ever spent. Bob and Debby 2014 by Bob and Debby 2014 - 04/28/2014

The Cedar Mill put up our last fence about 13 years ago. Time for a new one. Ashley from Cedar Mill came out for an estimate. I called 2 other fence companies. Cedar Mill matched the lowest price. I'm very "fussy" about things so they custom made some of the fence sections sizes to my order. The standard fence section is 7 foot long. They made several 6 foot sections and some 8 foot sections for my job because that was what I wanted.3 workers came to take down the old fence and install the new fence. I have never seen anything like it. They showed up at 7:15 AM and worked non stop until the fence was done. They took down and put up 200 feet of fence in like 6 hours. Cleaned up everything. Very happy with Cedar Mill.

1 Improper post installation by Kenneth - 04/24/2014

Over the years our posts have been slowly rising due to improper post installation. We now have a 10" gap between the bottom of our fence and the ground, not to mention a gate that won't close. The freezing and thawing is slowly pushing our post out of the ground. This would not be the case had they been properly installed. Since this has occurred slowly over 7 years they say it is not covered under warranty. So your fence might look good now, but just wait. Beware!

1 No customer service by Samantha - 03/17/2014

I had my fence put in just before the company stopped sending crews out because of our excessively cold winter. The posts on my fence were installed touching my garage that needs to be resided. I can't get a corner post in nor can I get the siding in since it is wider than what is currently on the garage. I left messages and emails following the installation to have it repair but was told I'd have to wait till the owner got back from his two month vacation. I was reassured that the fence would be corrected once the deep freeze was done. Well the owner called me today and basically told me to "mash" my siding to get it to fit under the post (a corner piece won't be able to be installed because they went passed the corner of the building) or to shave it down with a sawzall... I wish we could attach pictures because I would. The fence is pretty but now I'm going to have to spend money to have another company come out and fix this and then take Cedar Mill to court to be reimbursed. What a joke.

5 beautiful fence! by katie k - 01/05/2014

Dealt with owner who really stood by his product vs the salesman sent to our home by competition. They were able to give us a great price on a gorgeous prestained 8 ft privacy fence.Crew worked through the rain to install. Very pleased. More beautiful than we imagined.

5 Love my fence by Tim - 09/12/2013

We dealt with the owner Mike. He was great to work with and we felt confident with them through the whole process. We had 4 other quotes from other companies before choosing them and we are happy we went with Cedar Mill. Our 6' stained cedar fence is beautiful. We got many complements from our neighbors and would recommend them to anyone. We had a small issue with the gate and someone was out to repair it with no issues. I know this fence will last much longer them the one it replaced.

1 No customer service by Joan Norkus - 07/02/2013

My fence was put in almost two weeks ago. The finishing of the wood is very poor, the mill work is terrible. My bigger problem is the locks on the gates. I have a pool and the wrong locks were used. Gates did not pass inspection by the village. When I call I get the run around. I leave messages, get no call backs. It was suppose to be fixed yesterday, no one came. I called today, left a message, no one has called me back. It was too much money to be playing games with them. They didn't have to play games to get their money why do I have to call and call to get service.

1 Buyer Beware! by Infuriated - 07/27/2012

Fence started falling over, they don't care. All they care about is $$, customer service is non-existent. Next time I need a fence, I will hire someone else, these people won't get another penny from me!

2 Not Great by Jeff - 05/24/2012

First off, the fence is very rough. I knew and expected this to some degree, but was surprised how bad it was. The tenon joints are a nice idea, but there is a lot of tear out on the beams. Additionally, there is a lot of fraying on the edges of each plank. A simply quick pass through a lathe or sander in the shop would have be a great add. Also watch out, dirt removal is not included or available (you are actually paying the installers under the table and if it does not fit their schedule you're stuck with it.)

5 GREAT FENCE!!! by haapycustomer - 06/13/2011

I used the cedar mill for my new fence and couldn't be happier with my decision. The quality of the fence is obvious right away and the installation crew was very nice and professional. I will recommend them to any and everyone from now on. This company was great work with!

5 Everything is perfect! by Bob F - 09/06/2010

Had a person come out for a estimate. Beat everyone's prices with a even better fence. I was scheduled for a day and i told them if they have any last minute cancellations I would take it to have the fence installed before a party. They came out earlier and had 200ft of 6ft fence installed perfectly in less than 8hrs. Will recommend to anyone who wants a fence. Prettty messed up that someone puts a bad review on here that didn't even actually get work done.