Sayler's Old Country Kitchen

(503) 252-4171

10519 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97216

Wednesday 4:00pm - 10:00pm (show)

Monday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Tuesday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Wednesday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday 12pm - 10:00pm (hide)

45.51930832462607 -122.55515098571777;jsessionid=9E490A0CF16F031BE7D8B66F0B6DFD5A

Billboard - The latest coupons and news on this business!

What's New

Home of the 72 oz. steak.

Reviews (26)

Click Stars To Rate
0 / 100
0 / 4000
0 / 30
0 / 100
Incorrect please try again
Enter the words above: Enter the numbers you hear:
Sort by:

Smoking area needed

by Smokers , 12/19/2014

You need a area for the smokers so people who don't smoke don;t have to smell it on their way in to the restaurant and out.

Here is a review the way only way we know how

by Kindred Productionz , 12/19/2012

Owner is rude

by bad owner and food , 10/15/2012

Went to Sayler’s old country kitchen with my girl Saturday Night, it was packed we had a 30 min. wait but it was that time of nightWe got seated in a nice booth I ordered the Filet Mignon and Trish ordered the Prime rib, when the food came my filet was bloody when I ordered it med well and Trish’s Prime rib was the ugliest most disgusting piece of Prime rib I have ever seen, the fat on it was solid lard. We pushed both dinners to the end of the table to be sent back, the ownerWalked by and asked what was wrong with our dinners I told him my was under cooked (which it happens) and then we told him about the prime rib, he laughed in our face’s and told us we don’t know what a good Prime rib looks like and offered to cut the lard off and bring it back. “WHAT THE HELL” tell the customer they don’t know what we are talking about, I have never been treated so badly in a restaurant before and by the owner no less, I said the hell with this we are out of here, we met with the Manager which was nice and understanding and told us they had a big run on Prime rib and he was sorry and shook his head like he knew the owner was a jerk but since he was the owner there was not much he could do. Worst restaurant experience I have ever had, the owner needs to learn some customer service skills from his waitresses!!!

Response from Business - 11/12/2012
We're very sorry to hear about this. We pride ourselves on our great food and our friendly service, from the hosts, to the servers all the way up to management and owners. We want everyone to have an enjoyable experience when they visit Sayler's and we're sad to hear that yours was anything less than perfect. We hope you'll give Sayler's a chance to make it right by stopping in again sometime soon. Best regards - The Sayler's team

Perfect as always

by Roseanne K , 08/03/2012

Of all the places to eat in the Portland Metro area...This is #1. We just had our 25th Anniversary Dinner at Sayler's last night.Saylers always has great food consistently. We average at least twice a month at this wonderful place. I would recommend it 150% to anyone who loves a good steak, homemade salads (they do not use bagged salad), homemade wonderful soups, great bread with garlic butter, ECT.... great place for casual great dining.

disappointed for the first time.

by dog bone , 07/18/2011

1. Great waitress and service.2. Watery lettuce in the salad.3. Great salad dressing. 4. Watered down cocktail.5. Deep fried seafood plate really bad. The coating was thick and tasteless. The scallops were raw.6. French fries were greesy.7. Dinner was replaced with the same with little improvement.8. On the positive side my husband's steak was the very best and he enjoyed eating it; however the baked potato was not so good.9. Ice cream was great.Perhaps Sunday was not the best day to dine here. The crew may not be the regulars. We have been customers for several years and this is the first disappointing experience.

Saylors country kitchen

by Saylors Country Kitchen , 07/11/2011

DO NOT GO TO THE COUNTRY KITCHEN!!!!!!! My husband and I were born and raised in Portland our families went to Saylor's for all our special occasions and just to go out for a Saturday dinner. Just recently we went back after not being there for a while and went into the bar and were treated so rudely by our waitress that I made a complaint to the Manager as we were leaving. Last weekend we decided to give it another try and went back again and the food was awful. We had ordered off the appetizer menu and pleeeeeeeeeeease deep fried steak bites everything was soooo greasy we could not eat it. We paid the bill and I said to my husband we just paid $30.00 for crap. So I called the Manager and told him what had happened he said he would send us a refund and he sent us a check for $9.90. Go figure not even a note of apology NOTHING. After 50 years of going to The Old Country Kitchen we will NEVER return and we will tell everyone we know to not patronize them!!!!!!

Response from Business - 11/12/2012
We are sorry to hear about your bad experience and appreciate your patronage over the years. Please let your server or a manager know right away if something is not up to your standards as this gives us an opportunity to make it right while you are dining in the restaurant. We pride ourselves on excellent food and great service and always want to know when a valued customer is disappointed. Thank you - The Sayelr's Team

Frequent patron

by ATCscopeman , 05/08/2011

One of the few Portland restaurant with consistently fine quality. Without a doubt the best steaks are served at The Country Kitchen.The staff are friendly and efficient.Just writing this review makes me hungry!P.S. Be sure to try the onion rings.

Execellent food

by Baileyworld , 04/22/2011

My family has been dining at old country kitchen since it opened, and it's still the best steaks and trimmings around for the money!Service is above average most of the time. In fact we've never had a bad meal there!

A little pricey for what its worth...

by TJ , 05/22/2010

When we pulled in the parking lot you would never know there was a recession going on, it was PACKED at 7pm on a Friday. There was a moderate 15 min wait for a table, service was a little slow but the waitress was nice and attentive. The prices are a little steep and WAY OVERPRICED on some things. I ordered a 24oz Porterhouse and it was $30 but to add a 6-8oz Lobster tail it was an $25.95 extra !! Are U KIDDING ME ? I can get a full Lobster at most places for a little more then that. The steak was ok, I asked for Medium and it came Medium rare but was flavorful. The house salad looked old,brown and was just lettuce, croutons and dressing, I didnt even get tomatoes. I didnt finish it. The onions rings were good, so was the Dungeness crab appetizer, the roasted garlic butter was the star attraction out of the whole meal in my book. Probably wont eat here again, can get a better and bigger meal at Roadhouse for half the cost of this place and I like the atmosphere better there as well.

Wonderful Food w/out the Attitude! Some of the best steaks in the area!

by Steak Lover , 09/24/2009

I have eaten here several times and enjoyed it every time. It's comfortable and clean and fairly casual but you get a really nice steak! It's a great place to take the family and be able to relax and have a nice time while eating a great meal.... I've had steaks at Ruths Chris, Mortons, Jakes, McCormicks and Schmicks and Saylers Steaks compare w/any of them - even could be a little bit better... Enjoy your meal, we always do!